Welcome to St Joseph's Secondary School Tulla

Junior Munster Champions

A Fantastic Victory for our Juniors!


Last Saturday, on a sun-drenched February afternoon in Feakle, St Joseph’s Tulla emerged victorious, after a titanic struggle with St Joseph’s, Doon to capture the Munster Colleges Junior D championship on a score line of 3-7 to 3-6. Our girls had been nervously awaiting this replay fixture which was postponed 2 weeks previous due to heavy fog on the University of Limerick all weather pitch. We have been working hard since September in preparation for a big fixture such as this and we were not going to let the occasion get to us.

Tulla began well taking an early lead with points from Evelyn Duggan and Regan Conway both assisted by the hard work of wing forward Laura McGrath and corner forward Siobhan O’ Connell. Two goals in quick succession from full forward Aoife Leamy and corner forward Bridin Dinan half way through the first half gave Tulla a five point lead. However that cushion was short lived. Doon proved their worth with endless pressure down the centre of the field putting our centre back Alannah Ryan under enormous pressure. Further points from Conway and Dinan were cancelled out by two goals from Doon which left Tulla holding a narrow one point advantage at half time 2-4 to 2-3.

The second half was equally tight with both teams fighting for every ball and scores were at a premium. Tulla’s centre forward Niamh Mulqueen and Samantha O’Connor who came into corner forward at half time fought hard for every ball. Both defences were very much on top and in particular Aoife Tuohy, Joanne O’Gorman, Alannah Ryan, Chloe Crowe and Captain Edel McNamara stood out for the Clare team. With barely two minutes left the two sides were level. When a well struck 45 from Regan Conway (Woman of the Match) gave Tulla a precious lead. The Tulla goal keeper, Deirdre Cotter pulled off the save of the game in the dying minutes with a well struck shot knocked out from the top left hand corner. Victory seemed assured for the home side when in injury time a sweeping move which began with goal keeper Deirdre Cotter culminated in a spectacular goal from Sinead Conlon on the right hand touch line which gave Tulla a commanding four point lead.

However Doon were not finished and in the fifth minute of injury time replied with a goal of their own to once again leave only the bare minimum between the two sides. In a tense final two minutes, where Aine Nash and the full back line defended heroically to emerge triumphant by one point 3-7 to 3-6 to annex the junior title to the senior title they won in January.

Well done to our entire panel for the hard work and dedication they have shown in our campaign so far. We are really looking forward to the next few weeks. Training will begin again on Thursday.

1.Deirdre Cotter (Kilkishen), 2 Siobhan O’Connell (Broadford), 3 Aoife Tuohy (Feakle), 4 Áine Nash (Clooney) 5.Joanne O’Gorman (Kilkishen), 6 Alannah Ryan (Kilkishen), 7 Edel McNamara (Kilkishen), 25 Chloe Crowe 8 Regan Conway (Feakle), 9 Evelyn Duggan (Feakle), 10 Sinead Conlon 11 Niamh Mulqueen (Broadford) 12 Laura McGrath (Feakle), 14 Aoife Leamy (Tulla), 20 Bridin Dinan (Tulla),

Subs: 13 Samantha O’Connor (Broadford) for Siobhan O’Connell, 15 Laura O’Connell (Broadford), 16 Micquela Culloo (Tulla), 17 Siobhan Halpin (Clooney), 18 Zoe O’Keeffe (Broadford),19 Catherine Donnellan (Broadford), Sinead Conlon (Tulla),22 Marie Vaughan (Broadford),23 Aoife Vaughan (Broadford), 26 Laoise Culloo (Tulla),27 Niamh O’Gorman (Kilkishen), 28 Emily Ryan(Tulla),29 Orlaith Nash(Clooney) injured: Tara Gleeson (Tulla),


Uncategorised Junior Munster Champions